Tuesday, January 31, 2012

Sisters of the Quilt ~ The Complete Trilogy :: Book Review

Sisters of the Quilt ~ The Complete Trilogy
by Cindy Woodsmall

Can Hannah find refuge, redemption, and a fresh beginning after her world is shattered? 
When the Heart Cries
Her life among her Amish community brutally interrupted, seventeen-year-old Hannah Lapp faces questions neither family, nor fiancĂ©, nor even faith can easily answer. The first book in the Sisters of the Quilt series, When the Heart Cries will ignite a broader understanding of others’ beliefs and a God-given strength to deal with pain we all experience.

When the Morning Comes
Rejected by those she loves, Hannah Lapp leaves her Amish community and seeks refuge in the world outside, leaving her family and friends to wrestle with the painful truths that emerge in the wake of her disappearance. As she struggles to find her place in the confusing Englischer world, her community deals with the turbulent aftermath of her departure.
When the Soul Mends
Hoping to help her sister, Hannah Lapp reluctantly returns to the Old Order Amish community she fled in disgrace more than two years earlier. When hidden truths are revealed about her former fiancĂ©, she must choose whether to return to the Plain life or to the Englischer man who adores her in this captivating conclusion to the Sisters of the Quilt series.
This three-in-one collection includes the entirety of the best-selling Sisters of the Quilt trilogy now at a new low price! 

My Review:
I was a little disappointed with this book with some of the content being adult only (in my opinion).  Though a captivating and great read I wouldn't want a daughter of mine to read this book until she was older or married (I only have a 17 mo boy right now...).  It might just be because of my upbringing and the sheltering that I had when I was at home.  Every family and parent has different ideas of what is age appropriate for their children and I'm sure that would play a big role on who/what ages could read and benefit from this book.  For me, this was a neat adult book - really enjoyable!

It was a wonderful story though, heartache, healing and forgiveness were shared in a way that touches you.  The story was very well thought out and researched, it doesn't seem much like a fiction book, with very real life happenings in it.

Through all the heartache and bitterness reaped on Hannah (main character) one of the best things I found about the book what her devotion to God.  Though she left the Amish she didn't leave all faith.  She still trusted in God and waited on Him to bring healing to herself, her family, and Amish community.  She doesn't return to the Amish faith but she does forgive those who wrongly accused her.  In the end she marries a Plain Mennonite man, the man that she's (secretly) loved since the beginning of the series.  A huge thing that comes across in this series is the fact that forgiveness is everything - many wrong accusations and misunderstandings become nothing with true forgiveness. 

** I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review all opinions are honestly my own. 

Go visit Lessons From Ivy and read her review and enter her giveaway for The Good Wife's Guide eBook! :)

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...